It is a common task to move Tridion CMS to different envrionments, for example, moving between DEV/TEST/STAGE/PRD. It is actually not that time consuming to move if you know what you are doing.
There are two pieces of the puzzle: the content and code stored in the CMS database and those which are not. Some of examples of contens/code which are not in the database:
- Sever specific configuration files
- Third party librares
- Hand-writen htmls which are not manged by Tridion
Apparently the stuff not in the database needs to be moved over manually. There is no magic over there.
For the content/code stored within the database. What needed is to use the complete backup of one envrionment and then restore it to another. There are some adjustment needed after the restore, then your Tridion application is running in a new envrionment.
Here are the steps:
- Do a full CMS database backup of one envionrment.
- Restore the CMS database to a new envrionment. (You don't need the Broker database since it is envrioment specific, you can just create a new broker database for the new envrionment).
Then you are done, it is so simple!
Tridion does a very good job of keep each and single version of your content. It actually present a challange when trying to delete anything.
Normally, you just need to use "Where Used" to find out which page is using the component you are trying to delete, unpublish the page, you will be then free to delete the component.
However, if the component is used by some older version of the page. It is become alost impossible to delete. You will see a comment on "Only old versions" when the component is only used by old version of the page.
I have tried to delete all the old version of the page and make sure the current page is not using the component, but the system still doesn't allow the component to be deleted.
Finally, I found a work around. The trick is to copy the existing page to create a new page, then you can unpublish original page. You can then delete the original page and the component you want to delte. The last step is to rename the new page to the original name and your job is done.
It is a long process just to get ...